Boo at the Zoo

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Saturday, October 21, 2017 - Sunday, October 28, 2018

The Zoo invites participants to Boo at the Zoo, a merry-not-scary trick-or-treating extravaganza. Participants should wear their best costumes and visit treat stations throughout the Zoo, take a ride on the Spooky Train Ride or wander through the merry-not-scary Hay Maze and Enchanted Swamp. Regular Zoo admission applies. Admission gates open 9:30am - 4:00pm. Grounds close at 5pm.

THIS YEAR AT BOO AT THE ZOO:

Enchanted Swamp

Formerly known as the Boo Den, the Enchanted Swamp is a new attraction to Boo at the Zoo. Located throughout our Otter Cabin and adjacent boardwalks, guests can let their imaginations run wild as they take in the magically decorated scenery.

Hay Maze

Wander through our merry, not scary hay maze! $1 per person, and proceeds benefit your Zoo! Presented by McDonald's.

Spooky Train Ride

Our Cypress Bayou Railroad is a true Zoo favorite, especially during Boo at the Zoo. Hop the train and travel through Cypress Bayou while spotting some classic Halloween characters along the way. Make sure you keep your eyes peeled around Boudreaux’s Bait Shop! 

EdZooCation Station

Our Wildlife Safari Amphitheatre is transformed for this event into a hands-on animal extravaganza! Don't miss our shows at 11:30 a.m., 1:30 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. Between shows we'll have our volunteers and Zoo Educators available for games and more.

Upcoming Dates:

Saturday, October 20, 2018
Sunday, October 21, 2018
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Sunday, October 28, 2018

ZooLights

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Friday, November 24, 2017 - Monday, December 31, 2018

Join us for ZooLights, a new holiday tradition in Baton Rouge.

Closed Christmas Eve & Christmas Day

Admissions gates open 5:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.
Zoo grounds close at 9 p.m.

Admission:

Adults/Teens: $5
Seniors: $4
Ages 2-12: $3
Friends of the Zoo Members: $3 per person​

ZOOLIGHTS IS:

A mile-long trail through the Zoo
More than 50 illuminated display sculptures of animals and traditional holiday displays
A festive family activity, adding to the quality of life for residents throughout the region
The beginning of a new tradition

This year at ZooLights:

LIGHTED DISPLAYS WILL INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING:

ILLUMINATED SCULPTURES: Visitors will find illuminated sculptures representing animals and traditional symbols of the holidays.

GIANT SPECTACULARS: Larger-than-life displays capture the imagination of children of all ages. These displays may include: Flamingos, Giraffes, Lions, Tigers, Gorillas, Rhinos, Elephants, Alligators, Giant Santa, Giant Snowmen, Holiday Trains, Santa in Sleigh pulled by Giant Reindeer and Toy Soldiers. Displays can be up to 30 ft. tall!

ANIMATED SPECTACULARS: Animated displays add additional entertainment value to our event. The use of high-wattage, computer-controlled displays will provide exciting animation to displays.

VISITOR AMENITIES: Safari Photo Booth Seasonal Specials from the Flamingo Cafe Safari Post Gift Shop

Upcoming Dates:

Friday, November 23, 2018
Saturday, November 24, 2018
Sunday, November 25, 2018
Monday, November 26, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Thursday, November 29, 2018
Friday, November 30, 2018
Saturday, December 1, 2018
Sunday, December 2, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Tuesday, December 4, 2018
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Friday, December 7, 2018
Saturday, December 8, 2018
Sunday, December 9, 2018
Monday, December 10, 2018
Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Thursday, December 13, 2018
Friday, December 14, 2018
Saturday, December 15, 2018
Sunday, December 16, 2018
Monday, December 17, 2018
Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Friday, December 21, 2018
Saturday, December 22, 2018
Sunday, December 23, 2018
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Thursday, December 27, 2018
Friday, December 28, 2018
Saturday, December 29, 2018
Sunday, December 30, 2018
Monday, December 31, 2018

Twilight Tours

Tuesday, June 5, 2018 - Tuesday, July 31, 2018

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo invites you to visit this summer for Twilight Tours every Tuesday and Thursday evening this June and July. Take a twilight tram ride through the Zoo in the cool of the evening. Enjoy a narrated ride through the Zoo, an animal encounter at the Wildlife Safari Theatre and an evening snack.

TIME

6 P.M. to 7:30 P.M.

FEE

$16 for adults and teens
$13 for children 2-12

NEED TO KNOW

There is limited space available, and pre-registration is required.

Registration opens up May 23rd. To register, please click here.

Upcoming Dates:

Thursday, June 21, 2018
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
Thursday, June 28, 2018
Tuesday, July 3, 2018
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Thursday, July 12, 2018
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Thursday, July 19, 2018
Tuesday, July 24, 2018
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Tuesday, July 31, 2018

Central City Appreciation Day

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Saturday, June 23, 2018

Come celebrate YOUR community! Visitors presenting a valid driver's license with a household address that includes a Central zip code will be offered "buy one, get one" pricing on admission.

The offer to buy one regular price admission, get one of equal or lesser value free will be offered for all visitors presenting an official Louisiana driver’s license with a recognized Central zip code (70818, 70739 and 70770). Offer valid June 23, 2018 only, and is not valid in combination with any other offer. 

Red, White and Zoo

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Saturday, June 30, 2018

Visit the Zoo and celebrate our red, white and blue animal friends. This special day will include Safari Amphitheatre programs, games and crafts featuring some of our red, white and blue Zoo animals. Regular Zoo admission applies.

Frozen Safari

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Saturday, July 21, 2018

Visit the Zoo as we keep it cool this summer. This special day will focus on animal enrichment and teach visitors what the Zoo does to promote animal wellness on a daily basis. Frozen treats will be available for visitors, as well as the animals! The first 100 people to enter the Zoo will receive a coupon for a free frozen treat at the Zoo’s Cool Critter Café. Regular Zoo admission applies. 

Zoo & Me Morning - Tons of Turtles

Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Tons of Turtles

Held the second Tuesday of every month, this program is designed for 3- to 5-year-old children accompanied by a parent or guardian. Programs are 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and will incorporate many exciting activities including a train ride, animal encounters, art projects, "Zooper" snacks and many other hands-on projects that you and your child can enjoy together.

$18 per session for one child with one parent/guardian

$12 for each additional person (adult or child)

Pre-registration required. 225.775.3877, option 2.

Zoo Run Run

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Saturday, August 25, 2018

5K and 1/2 Mile Fun Run

Run like a cheetah to our 13th annual Zoo Run Run 5K and ½ Mile Kids' Fun Run! At the run, enjoy the scenery as you scamper, trot or gallop your way through BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo. All proceeds from the race support your Baton Rouge Zoo and international cheetah conservation efforts. There will be food & refreshments for the whole family to enjoy after the race. And, anyone in your party who participates in the race or is there to support you, gains free admission to the Zoo as long as they're on site before admission gates open to the public at 9:30am. 

  • Registration begins at 6:30 a.m.
  • ½ Mile Kids’ Fun Run begins at 7:45 a.m.
  • 5K begins at 8:15 a.m.

Register HERE

Zoo & Me Morning - Tails from the Zoo

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Tails of the Zoo

Held the second Tuesday of every month, this program is designed for 3- to 5-year-old children accompanied by a parent or guardian. Programs are 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and will incorporate many exciting activities including a train ride, animal encounters, art projects, "Zooper" snacks and many other hands-on projects that you and your child can enjoy together.

$18 per session for one child with one parent/guardian

$12 for each additional person (adult or child)

Pre-registration required. 225.775.3877, option 2.

Scout Day

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Join us for Scout Day! A chance for Girl Scouts to learn about animals and do a scavenger hunt throughout the Zoo. And, even earn a badge in the process! Intersted parties can register by emailing kshipp@gsle.org. 

Brew at the Zoo

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Friday, October 5, 2018

Join us at our 5th annual Brew at the Zoo! As summer temperatures wane and the leaves begin to change colors, guests are welcome to come to the Zoo for an evening of food, beer, music and more. Come and sample dozens of craft beers and munch on pub favorites. Show off your “safari chic” style while listening to the sounds of local musicians before meeting some of our animal ambassadors. Pre-purchased tickets are required for entry. 

Ages: 21 and older

Stay tuned for ticket information soon. 

Zoo & Me Morning - It's Raining Bats and Dogs

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

It's Raining Bats and Dogs

Held the second Tuesday of every month, this program is designed for 3- to 5-year-old children accompanied by a parent or guardian. Programs are 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and will incorporate many exciting activities including a train ride, animal encounters, art projects, "Zooper" snacks and many other hands-on projects that you and your child can enjoy together.

$18 per session for one child with one parent/guardian

$12 for each additional person (adult or child)

Pre-registration required. 225.775.3877, option 2.

Veteran's Day at the Zoo

BREC's Baton Rouge Zoo

Sunday, November 11, 2018

Join us as we recognize and honor both those actively serving and those who have served in the armed forces, as well as a special bald eagle chat.

Military veterans and active military: Complimentary admission for you and up to five guests when presenting a valid military ID on 11/11.

Non-military: Regular zoo admission applies

Zoo & Me Morning - Something's Fishy Around Here

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Something's Fishy Around Here

Held the second Tuesday of every month, this program is designed for 3- to 5-year-old children accompanied by a parent or guardian. Programs are 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and will incorporate many exciting activities including a train ride, animal encounters, art projects, "Zooper" snacks and many other hands-on projects that you and your child can enjoy together.

$18 per session for one child with one parent/guardian

$12 for each additional person (adult or child)

Pre-registration required. 225.775.3877, option 2.

Zoo & Me Morning - Reindeer Games

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Reindeer Games

Held the second Tuesday of every month, this program is designed for 3- to 5-year-old children accompanied by a parent or guardian. Programs are 9:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. and will incorporate many exciting activities including a train ride, animal encounters, art projects, "Zooper" snacks and many other hands-on projects that you and your child can enjoy together.

$18 per session for one child with one parent/guardian

$12 for each additional person (adult or child)

Pre-registration required. 225.775.3877, option 2.